Wonder Woman

My mom is my wonder woman. She has been my superhero for as long as I can remember. She stayed home with me and my brothers, even when it would have been more financially helpful for her to work, my parents made the decision that it was more important for her to be home with us. She was my hero when she would build us a blanket fort in the living room and serve us lunch under it. She was my hero when she would let us stay up late to read just one more chapter out of whatever the book of the week was.  Those early years shaped me and gave me values, faith, and a security that I wouldn’t have gotten anywhere else.  She taught me to read and gave me the love for reading that has carried through my life. She encouraged our imagination and our dreams. She isn’t one to say that something is impossible.  For that alone she is my hero.

She was my hero when she stayed up holding me while I cried all night after my first big heartbreak. She was my hero when she championed my case to doctor after doctor never giving up. She was my hero when she went through a thyroid storm that almost killed her and yet she never questioned God or lost her faith.

Life hasn’t always been nice to my mom. She’s been through things that would break most people. She’s known heartache and loss. She’s known sickness in a way that a lot of people can’t imagine. She has had everything thrown at her and still she is one of the happiest, loving and kind people I have ever known. You hear the expression “they would give you the shirt off their back.”, for my mom that is not just a saying it’s an action. She has given to strangers when she didn’t have hardly anything herself. She radiates love and to everyone around her and I think that’s one of the things I love about her the most. It doesn’t matter if it is a stranger or family, my mom radiates an unguarded, unconditional love that I’ve never known anyone else to have. She inspires me to be better; to love harder.

My mom has set the bar of being a mother for me. The bar is set high, but if I can be half of the mother she has been to me I will have done something. I know I haven’t always done all that I should for her, as a teenager I put her through so much that I regret. Without her I wouldn’t be here. Without her love and support, her prayers and her grace I wouldn’t be who I am. She is my best friend and my guide.

Mom,

One of the greatest and most comforting things about having children will be knowing they will have you for a grandmother.

 

Rachel

Like My Mother Does

 

Leave a Reply

